moving

Posted on

I’m working from home today so our office manager can move me out of my current office into the new office. I think I’m in a little bit of denial today. I can’t quite imagine walking into work tomorrow and sitting somewhere different.

It is really happening. {sigh}

I am reminded of something that I learned from Breck: “Making a commitment is committing to loss.” Basically, I can’t have my cake and eat it too. My commitment to my kids and my evolution means giving up security and importance at work. Of course my kids come first, but choosing this path means facing some deep fears about how I survive in the world (will we have enough money? will I be valued? will I be forgotten? will I be irrelevant?)

Also, I chose to move into a very small, but central, office rather than take the large office that is way down at the end of the hallway. I think it’s a good choice for me to be more in the flow of office traffic, but I know that my ego will suffer a bit. Part of me will feel less substantial and less respect-worthy because I don’t have a partner-sized office . . . I will just have to remember to recognize this as noise and not reality.

No one ever said the cocoon was comfortable.

2 responses »

  1. Lindsey, to a woman that I have always admired, thank you for sharing your thoughts, your challenges and discoveries. I don’t know how I feel about modern technology, blogs and facebook but I see that it is an important medium to keep us in touch with each other. It gives us a way to relate on a deeper level and to open ourselves to the vulnerability that is so beautifully human. May you continue to spin the finest of silk in your cozy cocoon. Happy travels…

    Reply
  2. Thank you for the kind words Sandy. I am wary of technology as well, but it is absolutely the world in which my children are growing up. So I am taking a deep breath and jumping off the diving board.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

