transparent

Posted on

I had dinner with some close friends last night. We started talking about my blog and one of them suggested that what he thought would be compelling in my writing (and what would make him more interested in reading it) would be that I was more transparent about my thought process while I was writing. So I wouldn’t prepare a post by writing, editing and making it a “finished” product (which is what I do now), but I would just write and let the reader know how I feel when I’m writing it, when I think I’ve said something that I wish I hadn’t, etc. This sounds like a great idea to me given that the point of my blog is essentially to describe the process of my transformation. It also sounds incredibly hard to actually do.

My experience as a writer is limited. I did my assigned writing projects in high school in college, but the vast majority of my writing experience has been as an attorney. Legal writing is precise, edited, re-worked, edited, strategic, edited, formulaic and did I mention edited? I have spent 17 years honing the skill of communicating concisely, clearly and convincingly. But . . . nowhere in legal writing does my audience get a sense of my struggles, my process or my true self.

I am going to try this. I don’t know what it’s going to look like. It might take me a while to figure out how to actually do what my friend is suggesting. I am concerned that it will be messy and imprecise and uninteresting and won’t communicate what I want to communicate (Oh, and I’m worried I will seem stupid if I don’t edit for grammatical correctness). But my friend thinks it will be much MORE interesting and will do much more to communicate who I am and how I am evolving. Breck has this saying “What’s up is down, what’s down is up, what’s left is right and what’s right is left up to God.” Sometimes I repeat that saying to myself when I face something where my perceived reality appears to be vastly different from some newly discovered truth that I am trying to comprehend.

Wow. This post was by far the easiest post for me to write so far (except maybe the one about my daughter’s bee sting experience, which I had a huge emotional response to). I AM going to spell check it, but that’s it. No editing (feeling slightly nauseous).

xo

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: easy « lifeinthecocoon

  2. Lindsey,
    Thank you for being transparent… you have always had such grace and love for so many. My heart is happy that you are well and so blessed. Thank you for inviting me into your beautiful writing and inspiring me as you always have. This is a true gift… and I know you realize how God has blessed you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

