fungible

Posted on

It feels weird to be at the office right now. I am in limbo. In transition between full-time and the dramatically reduced schedule that will start after labor day. I have (sort of) adjusted to my new physical office space, but I am now watching my boss call upon other people to do many of the things I used to do. I still have plenty of work, but I am not bursting at the seams. It’s interesting how bursting at the seams (i.e., constantly having people need to talk to me, need me to review something, need my input) can really make me feel important, essential, irreplaceable. And yet, during the last couple of weeks, I have started to be replaced. I am, in fact, fungible (no, not in an intrinsic, spiritual sense, but in the workplace). My experience of this shift is 1/2 exhilaration at my new freedom and 1/2 panic that my work life as I know it is going out of existence.

(Stay present. Breathe. This is the path. I chose it. It is good.)

Leave a Reply

