preview

Posted on

This vacation has been a good preview of my life post-Labor Day:   spending all day with the kids, which has been both wonderful and challenging;  and figuring out a way to take care of my legal work in the midst of everything else without compromising quality and without resenting the intrusion. I’m sure I sound like a broken record, but everything seems to come down to my ability to be present in each moment.

When I start to feel overwhelmed or anxious, it’s almost always because my mind is wandering to the past (and judging or indicting a past action) or to the future (and feeling anxious that I won’t be able to handle what is coming). On this vacation (probably because many external pressures are absent), I have often been able to catch my mind as it starts to wander away from what I’m doing.  The fun and surprising (at least to me) result of keeping my attention on the task at hand is that whatever it is I’m doing is far more enjoyable! Folding laundry, eating grapes, brushing my daughter’s hair, doing a puzzle or whatever it is becomes an experience that has its own unique texture and sensation.

I’m sure it will be more difficult to reorient myself to the present moment when I’m back at home and faced with the schedules and other demands of normal life.  But I have felt a shift while we’ve been here and I’m excited to see how that translates back home.

Leave a Reply

