last

Posted on
  • This is the last weekend of the summer.  I wore my white blazer today for its last outing of 2011.
  • This is the last of our lazy weekday mornings.  Pretty soon it’s back to setting alarms and getting ourselves out the door on a schedule.
  • This is my last day of being a full-time, salaried employee. My current plan (starting next week) is to come in to the office for a few hours on Tuesdays and Thursdays and do the rest of my work from home (or wherever I may be).  It feels like a big deal. I mean, it IS a big deal. But I don’t think that I’m necessarily going to feel different when I walk out of the office today.  I wonder how long it will take to sink in.  Or if I will be stringing enough work moments, minutes and hours together throughout my weeks that it won’t feel so dramatically different.  Who knows. I feel like there should be some sort of ritual or something to mark the importance of today, but I don’t know what that would look like. Maybe just a few moments of silence before I leave the office — no, too somber! I think I will just walk out today with a big smile on my face feeling grateful for everything this job has given me and grateful that I get to redefine my relationship with this job and my firm in a manner that is more consistent with where my life is going.

Happy holiday weekend!!

 

Leave a Reply

