turnaround

Posted on

My legal work has been really busy during the last 2 – 3 weeks. Definitely busier than I’d like. I knew going into this that there would be a natural ebb and flow and that some weeks I would have more to do than is my preference. I am so aware of the possibility of creeping into a schedule that includes more hours than I planned. Now that I’m in the middle of it, it’s extremely tempting to start questioning the whole arrangement – Have I kept too many clients? What is the right number of hours? Should I start cancelling things to clear up more time to work? How long can I make people wait for things without frustrating or upsetting them? Are people going to get mad at me???

I have promised myself that for the next couple of weeks I will just concentrate on the next task at hand and not evaluate or analyze my part-time set-up. I have very little tolerance on my side for making people wait for things, so I really have NO idea how much elasticity there is on the part of those who are actually doing the waiting. A few weeks from now, I will evaluate to see if there have been notable complaints or consequences as a result of the pace at which I’m completing things. If not, then I know I just have to expand my own concept of acceptable turnaround time. If, on the other hand, there are concrete problems, then I will talk to my boss about dropping one of the clients. I really don’t want to do that, but I think I can and would be willing to have that conversation without getting too caught up in the fear of disappointing him.

One response »

  1. ahhh….the fear of disappointing. i so wish i had the same fear of disappointing myself as i did of disappointing others.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

