entrepreneur

Posted on

I don’t know why this is embarrassing, but I feel self-conscious about sharing it. As part of going part-time, I was advised by my accountant that there would be certain tax benefits to being paid through my own corporation. I reached out to a corporate lawyer, Jeff Unger, with whom I have a relationship, and asked for his help in forming my corporation. I had impeccable timing. Jeff had just announced a new program in which his firm would form corporations for 500 new entrepreneurs for free in exchange for being able to post their stories on his website. When he suggested that I participate in this program, I told him he really didn’t want me because the term “entrepreneur” didn’t apply to me. My business plan is: “work less and spend more time with myself and my kids.” He said that he definitely wanted my participation, because I am a “lifestyle entrepreneur.” Who knew? So Jeff formed my corporation, Life in the Cocoon, Inc., and I owned my entrepreneur status.

Leave a Reply

