do-right

Posted on

I’m sitting in the hallway outside the courtroom waiting for the judge to call us in. I was assigned to a trial yesterday afternoon and we are in the middle of void dire (i.e., the jury questioning and selection process).

In a few hours, I will know whether I am released back to normal life or whether I will be spending the next week helping to determine the fate of an accused criminal offender.

Mostly, I would be relieved not to get chosen for the jury. But there is a part of me that is also ready to embrace the opportunity to borrow another life for a week—to interact with a group of strangers, observe human behavior and to serve my community.

I don’t mean to sound like Dudley Do Right, it’s kind of a mix of novelty and altruism. I spend a lot of time tending to myself, my family, friends and clients. It sounds appealing to put some time and energy into something in which I have no self-interest.

Leave a Reply

