why

Posted on

I haven’t posted in 11 days . . . due in part to my travels to New York and Sonoma last week (both very fun trips!). But I certainly could have written about my trips, so I’m not sure that’s it. I’ve had a certain ambivalence about posting. I haven’t felt compelled to write about anything. But then every day that goes by without writing, I start to question whether I should really be writing a blog. I mean, real bloggers always have something to say, right? And should I really be writing a blog anyway? I’ve asked myself that question a hundred times over the past week and a half and haven’t been able to answer it.

I started to write this blog as an exercise in self-expression. I made a commitment to myself to keep it going for at least 6 months. I reached that milestone in January, but I haven’t reached my goal in terms of self-expression. I don’t feel that I’ve found my voice or my point of view as a blogger. I know this because whenever I read other people’s blogs I find myself wanting to sound more like them . . . when what I am truly seeking is to sound more like me.

So for now, I guess I’m just going to go one post at a time. I’m not going to worry about how often, how relevant, how long, how witty, how wise or how interesting my post is. I’m just going to work on letting my thoughts flow. Less editing, less judgment, more feelings, more transparency.

Geronimo!!!! (Is that still an acceptable, i.e., politically correct, expression?)

One response »

  1. Way to keep going Linds…i love reading your thoughts and blog, and i think it’s human nature to read or see others and want “that” rather than realize the incredible-ness of what lies within…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

